The Rationalist Society of Australia Inc. (RSA) is an association incorporated in Victoria under the Associations Incorporation Reform Act.  It is governed by the RSA Rules, and managed by a Board, elected each year at the AGM.

The RSA also has two subcommittees: the Finance Advisory Committee monitors the Society's income and expenditure and the performance of investments and recommends changes thought desirable to maintain a prudent investment strategy; and the Editorial Subcommittee oversees the development and production of the Society's publications.

The funds of the RSA are managed by the Board on the advice of professionally qualified and experienced members of the Finance Advisory Committee.  The RSA Finance Advisory Committee Terms of Reference include the investment policy, which is to generate enough income to fund annual operating requirements of the RSA Inc. while maintaining a moderate level of risk.

Members can access the most recent Annual Report here and minutes of previous AGMs here.

RSA Board

Until the 2019 AGM, the Board comprises:

With AnaPresident

Dr Meredith Doig
Photograph of Leo BrewinVice President

Leo Brewin

Chris Noonan

Nick Lee
Committee member

Matt Withoos
Committee member

Luke Beck


Subcommittee Support

  • David James, Editor of the RSA's quarterly hard copy journal, the Australian Rationalist. Email David at
  • Brett Davis, Accountant (responsible to the Treasurer for financial book-keeping). Contact:

For more information on the responsibilities of Committee Members, and how to become one, click here.



All the more reason.

Sign up & stay informed with our daily digest.